Life’s revolving door

Sitting for hours
Head full of foils
Watching in boredom
The continuous revolving
Door

A plethora of aged
Women
All come to get
Their hair done

Most of them there
Simply for cuts

One sassy dame
Opting for color
Burgundy streaks
In her thick
Silver mane

While others received
Their weekly roll

What struck me
Straightaway
Was their sense
Of style

Prominently reflected
In their choice of
Youthful clothes

So deeply that
I watched
In quiet fascination
Looking beyond
What time had
Done

With a shift of
Perception
Their spirits shown
Through

Time elapsed
In reverse

Until one-by-one
Young women
Emerged

I couldn’t help
But wonder
As I gazed at
My own
Reflection

How I will be
Perceived
Once old age
Claims me

Ⓒjillterry

2 Comments

  1. once old age claims me…

    an inevitable stage in life that we all have to perform – so perform our best!

Leave a comment